Our Stuff

Family and friends are always welcome!

Thoughts on being pregnant

with 2 comments

At 12 weeks along to the casual observer, I don’t look very pregnant. But as Joe can testify, I’ve spent the past month and a half acting pregnant.

This first trimester hasn’t been as horrible as what I’d heard from others, but it has brought with it many feelings and experiences completely new to me. Mainly, I feel like I’ve been blindsided by the tired bus. Typically, the fatigue hits without warning and at the least convenient moments. E.g. at work, before lunch, while driving, on Saturday mornings after a good 10 hours of sleep, etc. There seems to be no quenching the exhaustion once it arrives, so I just cave and take a long nap. I’ve also noticed an increase in the amount of water I drink. I can’t seem to beat the thirst … and so I drink more and more water. Like more than 10 glasses a day. Then, of course, there’s the increased bathroom visits (probably due to the aforementioned water consumption).

So far, there haven’t been pickles and ice cream moments. But there have been quite a few “I need to have french fries” ones. For whatever reason, potatoes (in any form) taste real good … no, check that, they taste amazing. That being said, I think I have more food aversions than cravings. Foods I once loved now disgust me… case in point, guacamole. Maybe it’s the garlic? Two days ago, I had my first real bout of middle of the night heartburn after eating a burrito for dinner. Evidently, pregnant ladies should cut back on spicy foods. Back to the good ol’ baked potato. Pass the sour cream, please!

Joe has been an amazing support throughout this first trimester. (Yes, he’s changing the cat litter!) Frankly, I don’t know how women manage pregnancy without someone to help them through the days when they can’t bring themselves to get out of bed in the morning. Fortunately for me, Joe’s adopted the kitchen cleaning, errand running, french fry fetching and more.

As we look to the future, we’re delighted to see what this new life book has in store. To be honest, I’m looking forward to the second trimester energy boost!

IB

Baby's first bib ... from Aunt Laura

Written by barrentine

March 1, 2011 at 6:21 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That bib is perfect.

    Annette

    March 1, 2011 at 5:37 pm

  2. That is adorable and I am over the moon for you two. Crazy how time flys and now there is a baby on the way. Starbucks together seems like eons ago.

    Sarah Matheny

    March 12, 2011 at 1:51 am


Leave a Reply

