Our Stuff

Family and friends are always welcome!

The Canyon

with one comment

I love the Yakima Canyon more than any other place on Earth.

I didn’t realize it until recently, but I find myself at home on its scabby, sage-covered, basalt hills. For nearly five years, I lived in the Canyon near Rosa Dam. I spent many hours climbing the trail less hills around my home.

Joe took me hiking there on Valentine’s Day. Despite frigid winds and threatening skies, we made the 1200 ft ascent from S.R. 820 to the peaks above the dam and found ourselves overlooking a bend in the Yakima River.

It was beautiful.

IB

Written by barrentine

February 18, 2009 at 5:45 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, just found your blog post by chance – just hiked in the Canyon this week! We like heading up the Umtanum creek, past the abandoned homestead, and exploring all the side canyons, and seeing where the beavers have been working lately. Fascinating how one little canyon changes with the seasons and the years.

    camelama

    May 4, 2009 at 6:46 am


Leave a Reply

