Our Stuff

Family and friends are always welcome!

Uniforms

with one comment

I’ve never really liked wearing a uniform.

I used to wear one when I worked for Starbucks, and can honestly say that I’ve not worn any combination of black, white, and khaki since I quit over a year ago.

Today I put on a uniform again.


In a few hours I’ll board a plane to Costa Rica and join nine other lucky individuals who “won” the Starbucks Earthwatch Expedition.

Yes, for the first time in my life I actually won something more significant than a door prize.

Earlier this week I found out that only 200 people entered the online contest that was accessed via the Starbucks website. Twenty people were selected as grand prize winners… so obviously my chances of winning were actually pretty good.

Joe did not enter and will not be joining me. Its really my fault he didn’t, because I forgot to tell him that I did and frankly, I forgot that I did. He found out I won (and entered) while we were in the car on our way to play golf when I got the call informing me I’d won the “grand prize.” We both thought it must be a fluke. But it wasn’t. One thing’s for sure: he’ll be missed!

Over the next two weeks, I’ll be telling tales of a journey through coffee fields, team building, and random moments of hilarity.

I hope you will enjoy the ride.

IB

Written by barrentine

August 25, 2008 at 3:49 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. WOW! How very exciting for you. I know you will find great value in the journey and they are so lucky to have you on the team.

    And is that a new hair cut I see you sporting? Nice (as JB would say).

    I can’t wait to see your photos – let’s plan a coffee date upon your return.

    You go girl.

    Mary & Michael Sage

    August 25, 2008 at 4:57 pm


Leave a Reply

